Tuesday, June 29, 2010

Well I Tell Them There's No Problem, Only Solutions

Big news for John Lennon fans today. In honor of what would have been his 70th birthday this year, a new campaign called Gimme Some Truth hopes to net Yoko some more big bucks. His eight classic solo albums are being remastered and rereleased:

· John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band (1970)
· Imagine (1971)
· Some Time In New York City (1972)
· Mind Games (1973)
· Walls and Bridges (1974)
· Rock ‘n’ Roll (1975)
· Double Fantasy Stripped Down (2010) / Double Fantasy (1980)
· Milk and Honey (1984)
Double Fantasy is the most curious one in the collected. Stripped Down? Was anybody really clamoring for a stripped down version ala Let It Be Naked? Feels like a bit of a money grab to me. Nonetheless, it'll be great to hear the classic remastered. Other notable releases in the campaign:
· A hits compilation in two editions titled Power To The People: The Hits
· A 4CD set of themed discs titled Gimme Some Truth
· A deluxe 11CD collectors box with the remastered albums, rarities, and non-album singles, titled the John Lennon Signature Box
It'll be a good year for Lennon fans. Hopefully we McCartney fans won't have to wait 20 years after his death for his catalog to get similar treatment.

Find all the details here

No comments: