Friday, February 02, 2007

Oh No, Here We Go As Yoko Sings Aieee!

I just received an email from Astralwerks announcing the new release from Yoko Ono. Oh, Yoko.

On February 6th, 2007 Astralwerks will release a new album from the controversial and outspoken artist Yoko Ono who has inspired an entire generation of musicians who themselves are currently challenging the status quo and pushing the boundaries of sounds and ideas.

I have to admit, despite never enjoying anything I've ever heard from her, I am intrigued. Take a look at some of these collaborations:

1. Witch Shocktronica Intro / Hank Shocklee
2. Kiss Kiss Kiss / Peaches
3. O'Oh / Shitake Monkey
4. Everyman Everywoman / Blow Up
5. Sisters O Sisters / Le Tigre
6. Death Of Samantha / Porcupine Tree
7. Rising / DJ Spooky
8. Nobody Sees Me Like You Do / The Apples In Stereo
9. Yes I'm A Witch / The Brother Brothers
10. Revelations / Cat Power : listen - win | real

11. You And I / Polyphonic Spree
12. Walking On Thin Ice / Jason Pierce of Spiritualized
13. Toyboat / Antony of Antony And The Johnsons and Hahn Rowe
14. Cambridge 1969/2007 / The Flaming Lips : listen - win | real

15. I'm Moving On / The Sleepy Jackson
16. Witch Shocktronica Outro / Hank Shocklee
17. Shiranakatta (I Didn't Know) / Craig Armstrong

It remains to be seen just how good this is, but it sounds interesting enough that it might be worth at least one listen. Pre-order/buy it here.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

"Inspired an entire generation of musicians"?

Who exactly? I need to know what artists to avoid.