Monday, October 01, 2007

In Rainbows

Radiohead In RainbowsThe big music news on this first day of October has to be this, right? Or maybe this:

As expected, Radiohead has gone an unusual route for distribution of its seventh studio album, "In Rainbows." The set will be available for digital download from the band's Web site beginning Oct. 10, but with a twist -- fans can name their own price for the purchase. "It's up to you," reads a disclaimer on the checkout screen.
Very interesting. Plenty of options beyond the digital download as well:
"In Rainbows" will also be sold in a "discbox," which will feature the new album on CD and double-vinyl, as well as a second disc with seven additional songs, photos, artwork and lyrics. The materials will be encased in a hardback book and slipcase.
At £40 ($81.18), that one is for the hardcore Radioheaders. I'll settle for the digital download at a price of my choosing!
Here is the track list for "In Rainbows":

"15 Step"
"Weird Fishes/Arpeggi"
"All I Need"
"Faust Arp"
"House of Cards"
"Jigsaw Falling Into Place"

Here is the track list for the "In Rainbows" bonus disc:

"MK 1"
"Down Is the New Up"
"Go Slowly"
"MK 2"
"Last Flowers"
"Up on the Ladder"
"Bangers and Mash"
"4 Minute Warning"
Stereogum has a bit more on it. Go here for the official site. By the way, the standard, physical version for any of you scared of a new album-release model will be released next year.

UPDATE: has videos of most of the album in case you absolutely cannot wait another 9 days.

No comments: